Why Procrastination is Awesome

Monday, we celebrated Veteran’s Day.  I had such big plans. I was going to get up early and get started on the mountain of homework that needed to be graded. I anticipated diligently plowing through a plethora of papers, then studiously preparing for the remainder of the week. I figured that by noontime, I would be ready to tackle the mountain of laundry that had been accumulating for…um…a while now. Then, while the washer was making my whites whiter and my colors brighter, I could begin reorganizing the office.
Such big plans.
So, so naive.
I neglected to take into account one tiny detail…I am AWESOME at procrastination!!
(Case in point: Right now, I really should be doing laundry and making cranberry sauce for our Ladies’ Meeting tomorrow. Instead, I’m drinking coffee and writing this fascinating blog post.)
So, when 5:00 PM rolled through on Monday, I had gotten about this far on that to-do list:

Yep. That’s procrastination in progress right there.

So, as I was whiling the day away, I happened to formulate this really great list. (Because that’s what I do when I’m not doing nothin’…I think of really cool stuff.) I’m sure there are more, but these are 5 reasons why procrastination is good:
1.) It teaches you what is really important.
Nothing sets your priorities straight like wasting time. When you realize you only have about half an hour to finish a two hour project, you learn real fast what is and isn’t necessary.
2.) It has nearly a 100% success rate.
These days, it’s all about self-esteem. Procrastination is great for that. Have you ever met anyone who wasn’t good at procrastination? I sure haven’t.
3.) It produces great feelings of accomplishment over very simple tasks.
After a long day of procrastinating, I’m so proud of myself when I actually get off my duff and do something – even if that “something” is just moving my school bag from the car to the living room.
4.) It strengthens your rationalization skills.
Habitual procrastinators are great at rationalization. We can come up with 87 reasons why it’s better to work later than now. I know some super ethical people discourage rationalization, but hey – you never know when you may be in a lifeboat with some people and you have to convince them why you shouldn’t be the one thrown out of the lifeboat. Then you’ll wish you had practiced those skills!
5.) It produces stress and panic – which are great motivators.
I don’t know about you, but I am great at working under stress. Some of my greatest ideas come at the last minute when everything is failing and full-fledged panic is setting in. (Some time, I’ll tell you about the wedding I did…and the cake didn’t show up.) I think my subconscious knows this and pushes me to procrastinate so that I will create just such an environment…

However, all good things (like this list) must come to an end…even procrastination. It’s now time for me to go make cranberry sauce, and for you to sound off in the comments. What are your motivations for procrastination?

2 thoughts on “Why Procrastination is Awesome

  1. Pingback: Ahh, Routine… | Tongue In Chic

Share your thoughts!

