When We Come to the End

Note: It’s been a while since TIC was updated. (My students remind me of this quite often.) It’s not that nothing has been happening. In fact…quite the opposite…

“Wherever you are, be all there! Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” ~Jim Elliot

Two months ago, I submitted my resignation to the school at which I currently teach. Many circumstances and a plethora of prayer led to this decision, and I knew it was the right thing to do.

That knowledge didn’t prevent me from expecting the worst. I expected to feel terrified of the future. Cast adrift on the world. Frightened and small as I contemplated my next step.

In reality, as I signed my name to the brief, succinctly worded resignation letter, I felt nothing at all.

No relief. No fear. Nothing.

Instead, I was filled with a calm, peaceful assurance that the future was not in my hands.

The words echoed in my mind:

And thine ears shall hear a word behind thee, saying, This is the way, walk ye in it, when ye turn to the right hand, and when ye turn to the left. Β  ~Isaiah 30:21

Less spiritual passages got equal air time:

The way is shut. It was made by those who are Dead, and the Dead keep it, until the time comes. The way is shut.
~J. R. R. Tolkien

I knew that the way was shut, the door was closed, there was another direction my life should take.

And last weekend, as I signed a contract with another school in a different state, I knew, that as I had poured my life into this school and these students for seven years, I would do the same in my new home. I knew that I was on the edge of something great.

The road might be closed, but my path has not ended.

5 thoughts on “When We Come to the End

  1. Pingback: Goodnight, Brain | Tongue In Chic

Share your thoughts!

