10 Ways to Cut Calories (Without really trying) Part 1

Calories

I don’t do diets.

They’re too much work, and they don’t really work.

My sisters don’t diet either, but they got the magical fairy pixie dust gene that makes them super tiny.* (Seriously, they could have been models in a previous life.) Next to them, I feel like Big AL hanging out with the cheerleaders.

Although I’ve come to grips with the fact that I’m never going to be as tiny as my sisters (I’m four inches taller than one and six inches taller than the other, and I don’t have hollow bones.), I don’t want to actually be Big AL hanging out with the cheerleaders.

So I cut calories.

But I don’t really try that hard.

*[OK, real talk, the one sister works out like it’s gonna save her life, and the other chases four kids around all day. Since I am not inclined to do either of those things, I just took the easy route and changed my eating habits.]

Just so you know…

  • Most people who reduce their caloric intake by 3500 calories will lose one pound. Therefore, cutting out 100 calories a day will generally result in a loss of 10 pounds in a year.
  • I know a year is a long time, but 100 calories is not a lot. This isn’t a diet plan; it’s a maintenance schedule.
  • And like always, these are things I actually do. So I know (and now you know) that they work.

1. Drink Water
This is the easiest way to cut calories, and to just be healthier overall. Coke clocks about 180 calories per serving, and in case you haven’t noticed yet, water has none. Drink it from the tap, or find a bottled brand that you like.

2. Use your freezer
This may seem like a strange way to cut calories, but it’s actually very effective. When I make cookies or sweets, there is no one else to eat them but me. And buddy, I can eat me some cookies and sweets. So, to avoid temptation, I separate them into reasonable portions and put them in the freezer. Not only are they “out of sight, out of mind,” but if I do want to eat them, I have to plan ahead.

3. Eat fruit
I have a sweet tooth the size of Texas. (Which I hear is pretty big. I don’t know, ’cause I’ve never been there.) If I could live off Debbie Cakes, I would. But since I don’t have the metabolism of Little Miss Debbie, I keep a lot of fruit in my house. Fruit has a lot of natural sugars, and a really great pear will give a Fudge Round a run for its money.

4. Keep something sweet
Sometimes you just crave chocolate and a piece of fruit isn’t gonna cut it. If I’m craving chocolate and there are no Debbie Cakes around, I am not above driving to the Dairy Queen just around the corner and ordering a large Death by Chocolate Blizzard.
To keep my figure and wallet safe, I keep a can of chocolate frosting in the refrigerator. Whenever I’m craving chocolate, I just scoop out a spoonful of cold frosting. You should try it. It’s amazing.

5. Eat less meat
I love meat. But it’s no secret that meat packs a bigger caloric punch than vegetables. You will be trimming not only your waist, but also your grocery budget if you cut out meat a few nights a week.

Stay tuned for Part 2…

***I’m sure you know, but just in case you don’t: I am neither a medical doctor, nor a registered dietitian. This post is not intended to treat or cure any medical issues. I’m just sharing things that have worked for me.

3 thoughts on “10 Ways to Cut Calories (Without really trying) Part 1

  1. As a student in school to become a dietitian (graduating in a couple months!), I approve of the first four messages! Number 5 is a bit of a tricky subject because lean meats pack a smaller calorie punch by weight than many grains and protein has been proven to keep you full longer and help you retain muscle while losing weight. Add that to the fact that most women don’t have enough dairy products (another good protein source) and it can be a bad catch-all suggestion. However, many people do eat large portions of higher fat meats so in that case a suggestion to switch to leaner proteins and possibly a portion size reduction would be warranted. I like the title picture of this by the way! Overall good tips – putting desserts in the freezer is one that I’m not sure I’ve heard so I learned something 🙂

    • Hey, thanks for that tip! I hadn’t thought of it that way. I do try to eat a lot of lean meats as well. (I guess I should clarify that by “meat” I meant bacon – my weakness!)

  2. Pingback: 10 Ways to Cut Calories (Without really trying) Part 2 | Tongue In Chic

Share your thoughts!

