Warm Kale and Quinoa Salad

KQS2

I’m pretty much obsessed with kale.

Which is something I never thought I would say.

The first time I ever made this salad (which was inspired by my good friend over at Lagniappe), I was a little concerned with how it would turn out.

I’ll be honest, when you’re working with kale, you kinda feel like you’re washing and chopping really big blades of grass. I mean, it even smells like a freshly mowed lawn.

But there’s something magical that happens when you put the lid on the pot. I have no idea what it is. All I know is that when I took the first bite of this salad, I’m pretty sure I saw a little vision of heaven.

Possibly there were angels.

Warm Kale and Quinoa Salad

1 bunch kale
olive oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
3 garlic cloves diced
1/2 cup diced red bell pepper
1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1/2 avocado diced
1/4 cup feta cheese
Vinaigrette (see below)

Wash, dry, and chop kale. Heat olive oil in wok or deep pot. Add onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, and garlic, and saute for one minute. Add kale and saute for one minute. Add chicken broth and give a good stir, then cover and cook for 5 minutes until the kale is tender. Uncover, stir, and continue to cook 5-6 minutes until chicken broth evaporates completely. Remove from heat.

Add the quinoa, avocado, feta cheese, and vinaigrette. Toss and serve.

Vinaigrette

1/4 cup olive oil
juice of 1/2 lemon
salt and pepper to taste

Whisk together all ingredients until frothy.

3 thoughts on “Warm Kale and Quinoa Salad

  1. Pingback: Go Green for Spring: Kale | Tongue In Chic

Share your thoughts!

