The Single Code

Well, Valentines Day has come and gone.

In addition to it being Hallmark’s number one overly-commercialized fabricated holiday, Valentines Day is also the one day of the year that married people feel the most sorry for their single friends.

(And the one day that single people wish their married friends would just give it a rest already. Sheesh.)

I’ve blogged before about what it truly means to be single in Christian circles, but I’ll be the first to admit that in the Married vs. Single dialogue, there has certainly been a breakdown in communication.

It’s not that married folks and single folks don’t want to get along – we do – we just speak different languages when it comes to interpersonal relationships.

So, today, I am reaching across the aisle.

For all of you married people who have ever tried to set up your single friends and been confused by their response, and for all of you single people who, for whatever reason, are new to the scene, I present to you…

SingleCode

“I’m praying about him/her”
My mother is planning our wedding.

*

“Let’s take a chaperon.”
I am incapable of  carrying on intelligent conversation.

*

“We’re just friends.”
I’ve picked out the ring.

*

“I’m really trying to guard her heart.”
I’m trying to figure out a way to break up with her.*

*

“I admire you as a brother/sister in Christ.”
I find you unattractive.

*

“I really don’t think this is God’s will.”
It’s not me; it’s you.

*

“I really need to focus on my relationship with God.”
Get away from me, you weirdo.

*

“I’m letting God write my love story.”
You’re not in it.

*

“God has someone special for you.”
I’m getting a restraining order.

*

“I kissed dating goodbye.”
I’m going to be single forever.

***

So what would you add to The Single Code?

Share your thoughts!

