Easy as Pie

I do not own a pie plate.

Isn’t that sad?

I can’t quite figure out how that happened, except that I’m not very good at pie, so I never make it. Maybe I just never figured I needed a pie plate.

I didn’t realize this omission from my kitchen paraphernalia until last night when I decided to make a pie for my students for Pi Day.

No pie plate.

Oops.

So, I don’t have any scrumptious pictures of pie to share with you today, BUT!!! I do have a wonderful recipe that has been passed down in my family for generations.

(And by “generations,” I mean that it was my mom’s recipe, and she gave it to me.)

As you can see, we used this recipe a lot.

As you can see, we used this recipe a lot.

This is actually a coconut pie, but we have often eliminated the coconut and just made a custard pie. Add a bit of lemon, and it’s a lemon custard pie.

Very soon, I’m going to try this pie with chocolate chips.

Whenever I get a pie plate.

Self Crust Coconut Pie
1/4 cup butter
2 eggs
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup sugar
1 cup milk
1/2 cup flaked coconut

Mix flour and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer. Add butter and cream well. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each. Add milk vanilla and coconut. Mix well. Pour into a lightly greased pie plate. Bake at 350* for 45 minutes or until set.

Tip: Every time my mother made this, she would put it in the microwave for 10 minutes, then in the oven for 15 minutes. I guess we were impatient.

What’s your favorite easy pie recipe?

Follow on Facebook and Twitter!

Share your thoughts!

