Darn Good Pasta

Whenever I have a lot on my mind, I go grocery shopping.

I also tend to go when I’m depressed. Or angry. Or bored. So, basically, if you see me in the grocery store, you should probably leave me alone.

Anyway, if I’m working through something, I go to Aldi’s. Mainly because I know that even though I’m not paying attention, I’ll still end up with a cart full of interesting things that I didn’t pay a lot for.

Last week was one of those times. I had some pretty crazy stuff that needed to be sorted out, and my head was about to explode, so I grabbed my reusable bags, and headed to the place where “a quarter saves you dollars.”

Plus, I had been gone for about a month, and the only thing in my fridge was some spoiled milk and a few rocks that used to be mushrooms. I needed food.

All in all, I didn’t do too badly. I came home with a few funky items, but for the most part, I gravitated toward the regular stuff. (If I were into psychoanalysis, I would read something into that.)

So when I looked at the collection of food on my counter, I decided to make pasta. Because I love pasta. And because pasta is my comfort food. And because I make darn good pasta.

Darn Good Pasta

Darn Good Pasta
I used half and half for this recipe because it’s what I had, but you can certainly use real cream. Or even milk. Whatever you’ve got.

4 oz cooked angel hair pasta
1/2 small red onion, diced
3-4 button or cremini mushrooms, sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 cups fresh spinach
1/4 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup half and half
1/4 cup parmesan
salt and pepper
1-2 roma tomatoes, chopped
2 green onions, chopped

In a large skillet, saute onions in olive oil over medium heat until they are almost translucent. Add garlic and cook just until you can start to smell it, then add the sliced mushrooms and continue to saute. Once the mushrooms no longer look raw, add the spinach and cook, stirring, until it has wilted. Add the chicken broth and bring to a simmer for 1-2 minutes. When the broth has mostly cooked out, add the half and half or cream and return to a simmer. When it has begun to thicken, add the parmesan, cooked pasta, tomatoes, and green onions. Turn heat to low, and cook just until the tomatoes are warm. Remove from heat. Salt and pepper to taste.

 

Share your thoughts!

